All Content © CRC for Forestry 2007

CRC for Forestry > Research programs > Harvesting and operations

Harvesting and operations

Program Manager: Mark Brown

Harvesting and haulage are priorities for the forest industry. These activities account for some of the highest costs in the forest supply chain, and provide many opportunities for improvements in efficiency.  Through projects in harvesting systems, product value ­optimisation and forest transport systems, the CRC for Forestry 'Harvesting and operations' program collaborated with industry to conduct applied research to develop and implement solutions to reduce costs, reduce energy use and increase value recovered.
harvester men in the field
forwarder and truck


Research results bulletins: 'Harvesting and operations'

The CRC for Forestry 'Harvesting and operations' program made its results available through a series of short bulletins.  Members of the CRC for Forestry can access the bulletins on the CRC for Forestry members' website

See full list of 'Harvesting and operations' bulletins.

Program contacts

Mark Brown
Program Manager
t: +61 3 5321 4188
mbrown2@usc.edu.au

Mauricio Acuna - researcher

Transport logistics and machine evaluation
t: +61 3 6226 7927
mauricio.acuna@utas.edu.au

Mohammad Ghaffariyan - researcher
Machine productivity and biomass harvesting
t: +61 3 6226 7958
ghafari901@yahoo.com

Rick Mitchell – research assistant

Harvest and haulage systems
rick.mitchell@wapres.com.au

Martin Strandgard - researcher

Onboard systems and operations management
t: +61 3 9250 6872
mnstra@unimelb.edu.au

Damian Walsh - researcher
Product optimisation and value recovery
t: +61 3 9250 6874
damianw@unimelb.edu.au

John Wiedemann – research assistant

Harvest and haulage systems
t: +61 8 9771 7425
john.wiedemann@wapres.com.au

Loren Kellogg – program advisor

loren.kellogg@oregonstate.edu